The Tube

Total Pageviews

Friday, 2 March 2012

NME Awards

Florence And The Machine Downloadwon two awards, taking home the prizes for Best Solo Artist and Best Track for ‘Shake It Out’. Accepting the award for Best Solo Artist, Florence Welch said that although she was aware it was “still unknown” whether she was part of a band or a solo artist, she would not be giving the award back. 

She also said she was delighted to receive the award for Best Track and thanked her bandmates and her management when accepting the gong. She had earlier performed a stripped down version of ‘Shake It Out’ and then duetted with The Horrors Downloadon a new rendition of their single ‘Still Life’. 

The Horrors themselves were awarded Best Album, with bassist Rhys Webb thanking their management as they accepted the award for their third album ‘Skying’. 

Kasabian Downloadwon Best British Band and dedicated their award to Davy Jones, singer with The Monkees, who passed away earlier this evening. Frontman Tom Meighan sang a large chunk of the band’s classic single ‘(Theme From) The Monkees’ in tribute to Jones. 

The Vaccines Downloadwon Best New Band, with frontman Justin Young telling the crowd that he was glad the fact that “entertainment was just as important as progression in rock ‘n’ roll had been recognised”. 

Hurts Downloadpicked up Best Video for ‘Sunday’ and dedicated the award to the people of Romania, Carl Barat and Noel Gallagher, while Katy B won Best Dancefloor Anthem for her single ‘Broken Record’, revealing that this was the first award she had ever won. 

Glastonbury was awarded Best Festival, with Michael Eavis promising that the event would return with a strong line-up in 2013, shouting: “Can we do it in 2013? Of course we can.” 

Arctic Monkeys Downloadwon Best Live Band and accepted the award by video, while Azealia Banks, who won the Philip Hall Radar Award, was unable to attend due to illness. 

PulpDownload were awarded with the Teenage Cancer Trust Outstanding Contribution To Music and also performed their hits ‘Babies’ and ‘Mis-Shapes’. Jarvis Cocker dedicated the award to "anyone who came to see us last summer" and also thanked their record label, management and all those who “were still interested”. 

Johnny Marr Downloadaccepted the award for Best Reissue on behalf of The Smiths, telling the crowd that he was “really happy people still liked listening to the songs as he really enjoyed making them”. He also dedicated the awards to his former bandmates Morrissey, Mike Joyce and Andy Rourke. 

Finally, Noel Gallagher Downloadpicked up the award for Godlike Genius, accepting the gong after seeing a video in which The Kinks’ Ray Davies, The Who’s Roger Daltrey, Paul Weller, Kasabian’s Serge Pizzorno, Brandon Flowers, Guy Garvey, Russell Brand and Bobby Gillespie all spoke of their admiration for him. 

Picking up the award from Johnny Marr, Gallagher told the applauding crowd: “To all the bands who have been influenced by me. You are welcome.” Gallagher then played a seven-song set, which ended with ‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’. 

Other awards winners, who did not receive their awards on the night, include Muse, Lady Gaga, Paramore’s Hayley Williams and 30 Seconds To Mars’ Jared Leto. The Vaccines, The Maccabees and Kasabian also performed at the ceremony.

No comments:

Post a Comment